CBMB: Warner Bros. Announces Suicide Squad Cast | FanboysInc

CBMB: Warner Bros. Announces Suicide Squad Cast

By Muuka Muyumba

Tonight, Warners announced the cast for the first film to follow up Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice in the DC Entertainment movie universe. Fury director David Ayer will helm the Suicide Squad with a cast that includes Jared Leto as the Joker; Deadshot will be Will Smith; Harley Quinn is Margot Robbie; Boomerang is Jai Courtney; Enchantress is Cara Delevingne, and Tom Hardy is Rick Flagg.

Suicide Squad Cast: Jared Leto as

That’s an amazingly strong cast with the kind of actor that Marvel can’t boast, an Academy Award winning actor as a major franchise villain in Leto as the Joker. According to insiders, Jesse Eisenberg is also in talks to play Lex Luthor in the film, a role he will first play in Batman v Superman, though the status of his deal is unknown.

Warners is also still in search of an actor to play Amanda Waller, the character who oversees the team to cast before the film goes into production. The studio’s shortlist of actresses being eyed for the role includes Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer and Oprah Winfrey, whom sources say would be WB’s first choice for the part.

Warner Bros. President, Greg Silverman released this statement about the future film:

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

“We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under Ayer’s amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero.”

The Variety piece does not mention whether any of the cast will have a deal that extends beyond Suicide Squad, a sequel, or whether any of the individual actors will appear in any of the other DC Entertainment films currently slated for release. In particular, whether Leto will reprise his role as the Joker in a Batman stand-alone film versus Ben Affleck’s caped crusader.

Here’s the slate:

“Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
“Suicide Squad,” (2016)
“Wonder Woman,” starring Gal Gadot (2017)
“Justice League Part One,” directed by Zack Snyder, with Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
“The Flash,” starring Ezra Miller (2018)
“Aquaman,” starring Jason Momoa (2018)
“Shazam” (2019)
“Justice League Part Two,” directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
“Cyborg,” starring Ray Fisher (2020)
“Green Lantern” (2020)

Suicide Squad will be produced by Charles Roven and Richard Suckle, will begin shooting next April in Toronto.

WB’s SUICIDE SQUAD hits theaters on August 5, 2016.